Poetic Musings

Dissonance

The open road stretched out before us, an unwieldy beast.

Not many understood its haunting beauty, nor its hidden hope.

It filled the void in our lives, the void created by our own shortcomings.

And at that time, both in my life and in the world,

Everything seemed to finally fall into place.

For years, dragged out like the road which beckoned us now,

My monotony had translated into melancholia,

Suffocating, encapsulating any faint flicker of freedom.

As we stood there, the blistering rays permeating all memories,

That part of my life will always be whitewashed.

Ethereal in its nature, difficult to comprehend.

I write in the prose of delicate nature, of conquests

And tribulations which haunt my waking hours,

Yet fill me with solace as day turns to night.

The vastness of that place was the defining change in my life-

The peripeteia of the protagonist if you will,

Except that my hamartia was not lust for blood or worldly wealth.

The tender stroke of the artist’s brush provides a mellow insight.

His mind composed of swirls of brilliant blue and sunlit amber.

Yet this is all simply a visage,

For I have been witness to an artist’s will,

And it is composed of nothing but fervent black.

Every day is a battle between the artist and the realist,

For one cannot be both without succumbing to the depths.

These words flow in my mind,

Incessant and ceaseless.

And even today,

Long after the age of the poets has passed,

I think about what could have been.

For the perpetual possibility of true happiness

Continues to fool me, as it has fooled all before me,

Who romanticise life and believe in fate.

Now we turn to look back,

And that road which one stretched out before us,

Has all but faded.

And we sigh as our bodies crumble,

And our minds turn grey.

And all romantic notions of beauty in opulence

Lead us to the inevitability of unfulfillment.

Then all our musings will be replaced by the youth,

Who spill into the world,

Full of the life we once had.

Their sleight of hand will tame the unwieldy beast,

The open road and all its mystery,

And they will understand,

The true enigma of existence.

Leave a comment